ga state flag Official website of the State of Georgia Report GDC Criminal Activity Offender Concerns/Questions: 404-656-4661

New Deputy Warden Named at Macon State Prison

Gregory C. Dozier
Director of Public Affairs: 
Joan Heath
Contact Name: 
Jeal Salter
Contact Email:
March 31, 2017

New Deputy Warden of Security Named at Macon State Prison

Peter Eaddie Promoted

FORSYTH, Ga. – Georgia Department of Corrections Commissioner Gregory C. Dozier announced the promotion of Peter Eaddie to Deputy Warden of Security at Macon State Prison (SP) effective April 1, 2017. As Deputy Warden, Eaddie will be responsible for supervising and managing 298 security staff and more than 1,700 close security male offenders in Oglethorpe, Ga. 

“Peter has spent 19 years working in uniform at Macon State Prison,” said Commissioner Dozier. “His knowledge of the facility mission and staff will serve him well in his new role as Deputy Warden of Security.”

Eaddie began his career with the department in 1998 at Macon State Prison as a Correctional Officer. During his tenure at Macon State Prison, he served as Sergeant, Lieutenant, TACT Squad Commander. In 2015, he was promoted to Chief of Security at Macon State Prison, where he currently serves.

Prior to starting his career with the Department of Correction, Eaddie retired from United State Army after serving 20 years. He has completed the following departmental training: Professional Management Program (PMP), Sergeants Academy, and Basic Management Training (BMT).

The GDC has one of the largest prison systems in the U.S. and is responsible for supervising nearly 52,000 state prisoners. It is the largest law enforcement agency in the state with approximately 10,500 employees.

For more information on the GDC call 478-992-5248 or visit


Copyright ©2023 All Rights Reserved
eVerify ID #41699, Authorized June 28, 2007
Quick Links
Home | About GDC | Accessibility | Contact Us | COVID | Privacy Policy | GBI Human Trafficking Notice | Report Offender Social Activity
state of ga seal gdc seal
Brian P. Kemp, Governor
Tyrone Oliver, Commissioner