ga state flag Official website of the State of Georgia Report GDC Criminal Activity Offender Concerns/Questions: 404-656-4661

New Deputy Warden of Security at Valdosta State Prison

Timothy C. Ward
Director of Public Affairs: 
Joan Heath
Contact Name: 
Lori Benoit
Contact Email:
April 29, 2019
New Deputy Warden of Security at Valdosta State Prison
Ralph Shropshire Promoted

FORSYTH, Ga. – The Georgia Department of Corrections (GDC) Commissioner Timothy C. Ward announced the promotion of Ralph Shropshire to Deputy Warden of Security at Valdosta State Prison (SP) effective May 1, 2019.  As Deputy Warden of Security, Shropshire will be responsible for overseeing security staff and over 1,070 close security male offenders. 

“Shropshire has shown great dedication and leadership in the positions he has held in the department,” Ward said. “We are confident that his knowledge in corrections will continue to benefit our agency as he takes on his new role.”

Shropshire began his career with the GDC in 2006 as a Correctional Officer at Hays SP.   During his tenure at Hays SP, her served as a Sergeant, Lieutenant, Captain and Unit Manager.  He was promoted to Tier II Unit Manger in 2017, where he currently serves.  

Shrophire has completed the following departmental training: Basic Correctional Officer Training, Effective Communication, Basic Management and Advanced Management Training.


About the Georgia Department of Corrections (GDC)

The Georgia Department of Corrections (GDC) has one of the largest prison systems in the U.S. and is responsible for supervising nearly 52,000 state prisoners. It is the largest law enforcement agency in the state with approximately 10,500 employees. For more information on the GDC, call 478-992-5247 or visit

Copyright ©2023 All Rights Reserved
eVerify ID #41699, Authorized June 28, 2007
Quick Links
Home | About GDC | Accessibility | Contact Us | COVID | Privacy Policy | GBI Human Trafficking Notice | Report Offender Social Activity
state of ga seal gdc seal
Brian P. Kemp, Governor
Tyrone Oliver, Commissioner